Secretary, Greene County Board of Commissioners
Greene County, Pennsylvania

Visit the Commissioners facebook© page

Our Greene County Board of Commissioners are elected to serve for a term of four years. During this time the Commissioners are responsible for the fiscal affairs of Greene County including the annual budget, levying of real estate taxes and the investment of county funds.

Office Location:
Greene County Office Building
3rd Floor
93 East High Street, Waynesburg, PA 15370
Phone: 724-852-5210 / Fax: 724-852-5348

Party Affiliation: Republican

Terms of Office:
  • Third Term: January 4, 2016—(4-year term) through January 4, 2020, (Secretary)
  • Second Term: Jan. 1, 2012—Dec. 31, 2015 (Vice Chairman)
  • First Term: Jan. 7, 2008—Dec. 31, 2011 (Secretary)
More About Commissioner Trader:
Mr. Trader received his High School diploma locally; successfully completed course work with both Penn State University and the University of Arkansas. In the community, Mr. Trader has been very active in a number of organizations which serve the needs of a wide range of county residents. He has been involved with:
  • the Greene County United Way (serving as president twice) since its inception
  • the Rotary Club of Waynesburg, as immediate past president
  • Past President of Central Greene School Board
  • Past President of Penn State Cooperative Extension Office
  • Past President of Economic Education Foundation of Washington, Fayette, and Greene Counties
  • Past Treasurer of Greene County Habitat for Humanity
  • Past Grand Knight and District Deputy of St. Ann's Knights of Columbus
  • Current President of Mon Valley Chapter of the Knights of Columbus of Greene, Washington, and Fayette Counties
  • Serves as acolyte, Eucharistic minister and Catholic education (CCD) Teacher of St. Ann's Catholic Church in Waynesburg, as well as a volunteer in the church's soup kitchen
  • Board Member of the Greene County Farm Bureau
  • Secretary for the Board of Commissioners (2008-2010) and Vice Chairman of the Board from 2010-2015, and Secretary to the new board in January 2016 to present time.
  • Serves as Vice Chairman on the Greene County Conservation District Board; is a non-voting member of the Farmland Preservation Board for Greene County; as well as the Vice Chairman on the Greene County Fair Board.
Career Specifics:
  • Greene County Commissioner (beginning January 7, 2008)
  • Retired from ownership of Trader's Plumbing & Heating, Inc.
  • Retired as manager for Weyerhaeuser Company
  • Lifetime farmer in Greene County, raising sheep and chickens
Committees/Boards Served:
  • Jan. 2016 — appointed as Secretary for the Greene County Board of Commissioners
  • Jan. 2016 — appointment to the Board of Assessment
  • 2016-present — Greene County Board of Elections
  • 2014-present — appointed Vice Chairman to the Greene County Conservation Board of Directors
  • 2014-present — member of the Greene County Farmland Presevation Board of Directors
  • 2014-present — member of the Greene County Soil Conservation Board of Directors
  • 2014-present — appointed to the Greene County Fair Board
  • 2004-present — Greene County Prison Board
  • 2004-present — Greene County Retirement Board
  • 2004-present — Greene County Salary Board
  • 2004-present — Greene County Sinking Fund Board
  • Aug. 2010 — appointed Vice Chairman for the Greene County Board of Commissioners
  • Aug. 2010 — appointed a member of the Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission, the SPC Board
Personal Life:

He is a member of St. Ann's Catholic Church in Waynesburg where he has taught many CCD classes to the county youth. His involvement with the various clubs has given his the opportunity to provide housing for several foreign exchange students over the years. For 21 years, he owned and operated Trader's Plumbing & Heating, Inc. in Jefferson, PA. He and his wife, Jeanette, live and maintain a farm in Prosperity, Washington Township, where he raises sheep and chickens. They are the parents of three children and grandparents of three grandchildren.

Click HERE to return to the Commissioners webpage.