June 20, 2017 News Release: Ten selected to receive county scholarships, Department of Finance and Administration, Greene County Government, Pennsylvania

    >> homepage >> government >> media center >> News Release >> Scholarship Winners

Greene County Commissioners' Office
93 East High Street, Waynesburg, PA 15370
Phone: 724-852-5210 • Fax: 724-627-5428 • www.co.greene.pa.us

News Release

Contact: JoAnne Marshall
Communications Director
Phone: 724-852-5210

Ten selected to receive county scholarships

FOR RELEASE — June 20, 2017

WAYNESBURG, PA — Ten Greene County high school graduates have been selected as the recipients of the 2017 County of Greene/West Penn Power Scholarship. The scholarship is awarded annually to eligible graduating seniors who plan to attend Waynesburg University and represents a $1,000 award to be used toward each student’s first year of enrollment. All ten students will begin courses at Waynesburg University this fall.

The scholarship recipients are:
  • Sarah Bish, Waynesburg Central High School. Bish, the daughter of Mary and Matthew Bish of Waynesburg, has not declared a major at this time.
  • Hunter Davis, Carmichaels Area High School. Davis, the son of Leah McKenzie and Glenn Davis of Carmichaels, will study nursing.
  • Christopher Feather, Carmichaels Area High School. Feather, the son of Amy and Scott Feather of Rices Landing, will study nursing.
  • Joseph Headlee, Jefferson-Morgan High School. Headlee, the son of Nicole and Joseph Headlee of Waynesburg, will study accounting.
  • Samantha Lambeth, West Greene High School. Lambeth, the daughter of Jane and Kurt Lambeth of Sycamore, will study early childhood education with a certification in special education.
  • Abigail McIntire, Mapletown High School. McIntire, the daughter of Nancy and Doug McIntire of Greensboro, will study nursing.
  • Keiriel Neel, Carmichaels Area High School. Neel, the daughter of Amy and Ryan Neel of Carmichaels, will study nursing.
  • Anthony Pecjak, Mapletown High School. Pecjak, the son of Lisa and Michael Pecjak of Dilliner, will study athletic training.
  • Aaron Sielski, Waynesburg Central High School. Sielski, the son of Mary and Paul Sielski of Waynesburg, will study mathematics education.
  • Emily Tedrow, West Greene High School. Tedrow, the daughter of Shirley and Sonny McDiffitt of New Freeport, will study nursing.
"On behalf of the Greene County Commissioners, we are proud to support this scholarship opportunity for the youth of Greene County," said Commissioner Blair Zimmerman, chair of the Board of Commissioners. "Congratulations to the scholarship recipients on their dedication throughout their academic careers and we wish them well in their studies at Waynesburg University."

The ten recipients met the scholarship’s criteria, which included a cumulative high school GPA of at least 3.0 and acceptance to Waynesburg University entering as a new, non-transfer student for the Fall 2017 semester. Applicants also had to submit a list of honors and activities and responses to two essay questions. Scholarship applications were sent earlier this year to high schools in the county’s five school districts – Carmichaels Area, Central Greene, Jefferson-Morgan, Southeastern Greene and West Greene.

Funding for the scholarship was made available through Allegheny Energy, Inc., as part of an agreement reached with Greene County in 2008 related to the Trans-Allegheny Interstate Line (TrAIL) project. In the agreement, Allegheny Energy subsidiary Trans-Allegheny Interstate Line Company (TrAILCo) agreed to contribute $750,000 to the county for educational, environmental, public health and community infrastructure projects.

In June 2009, the Greene County Commissioners and officials from Allegheny Energy, Inc. – which subsequently merged with FirstEnergy Corp. – presented Waynesburg University with $100,000 to start the scholarship, and a second $100,000 gift was presented in 2010. In 2011, the commissioners and officials from FirstEnergy made a final donation of $50,000 to the scholarship fund, bringing the total to $250,000 and ensuring the scholarship’s permanent endowment at Waynesburg University. Formerly known as the County of Greene/Allegheny Energy Scholarship, the merger necessitated a slight change in the scholarship’s name to include West Penn Power, FirstEnergy’s Pennsylvania subsidiary.

During the scholarship's inaugural year, five 2010 Greene County high school graduates each received $1,000 awards. The number of recipients increased in 2011, allowing multiple students from each high school to receive $1,000 scholarships. Nine students received scholarships in 2011 and 2015, and 10 students were awarded in 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2016.

Applications for the 2018 County of Greene/West Penn Power Scholarship will be available this winter for members of the 2018 graduating classes.

For more information on the County of Greene/West Penn Power Scholarship, contact the Greene County Commissioners' office at 724-852-5210, or Bob Barnhart in the Waynesburg University Admissions office at 724-852-3346, or e-mail rdbarnha@waynesburg.edu.

Pictured above, First row l. to r.: Sarah Bish; and Samantha Lambeth.
Second row l. to r.: Rev. James Tinnemeyer, Vice President for Student Services, Dean of Students and University Chaplain; Anthony Pecjak; Abigail McIntire; Joseph Headlee.
Third row l. to r.: Commissioner Archie Trader; Hunter Davis; Christopher Feather; and Commissioner Blair Zimmerman
Fourth row l. to r.: Aaron Sielski; Emily Tedrow; and Commissioner Dave Coder. Not pictured: Keiriel Neel.

For general information, please contact the Information Services
at 724-852-5399 / Toll Free: 1-888-852-5399
Greene County Office Building, 93 E. High Street, Waynesburg, PA 15370

Today's date is: