Greene County Government Infrastructure and Economical Evolution for Greene County Government, Pennsylvania


PA General Assembly

US Congress: 18th District
PA Senate: 46th District
PA House: 50th District
    >> homepage >> government >> About Us >> Infrastructure & Economic Evolution
County Government Infrastructure & Economic Evolution
Greene County Government, Pennsylvania

Contact for Information Requests: County Information Services Line
Phone: 724-852-5399 / Toll Free: 1-888-852-5399
Office Hours: 8:30 a.m.—4:30 p.m., Monday—Friday

Greene County County's fall foliage has always been a major attraction, with the foliage at its peak in mid-October. Greene County Historical Facts date back to 1796. We hope you enjoy our history compilations for various aspects of our county.

County Government Infrastructure:
Click HERE for county infrastructure chart.
Greene County being located in the southwestern most corner of Pennsylvania, is considered the cornerstone of the keystone state. Greene County is 89.2 percent rural; with a population of about 41,000 residents; and a land area of 579 square miles. Waynesburg, the countyseat for Greene County is located off I-79 (interstate 79), exit 14, about 60 miles south of Pittsburgh.

Three County Commissioners — constitute the chief governing body of the county. Statutory authority of the commissioners is primarily of an administrative nature with legislative or policy-making powers. The county commissioners are vested with selective policy-making authority to provide certain local services and facilities on a county-wide basis. Administrative powers and duties of county commissioners encompass registration and elections, assessment of persons and property, human services, veterans' affairs, appointment of county personnel, fiscal management and website content.

Through the organizational structure of Greene County the Commissioners approve the employment of the county staff. Daily operations of county government are administrated via five primary departments: Finance & Administration, Law & Order, Human Services, Economic Development, and Recreation. Also partnership offices fall under the County Commissioners that include: the Conservation District, the Redevelopment Authority, and the Industrial Development Authority. Each of these departments and offices manage a number of offices and programs, to provide muniple services to the county residents.

Our county municipalities consists of twenty townships and six boroughs, with 44 polling precincts within these municipalities. The county is divided into three magisterial districts for the operation of the lesser court system and two judges who sit on the Court of Common Pleas in Waynesburg. There is a state correctional facility (SCI Greene) and a county prison.

The governing body of Greene County Townships is composed of three supervisors who are elected at-large. Two additional supervisors may be elected if approved by referendum. All are elected at-large for six-year terms. The Boroughs are governed by elected members of council. Residents and businesses have the safety and welfare of having a full time police force consisting of a chief, lieutenant and patrolmen.

County Row Offices, Elected Officials, & Departments:
Pennsylvania, Greene County Representatives | Click HERE for the State and local representatives brochure | click HERE for Redistricting information.
Greene County is in the 9th -- and -- 18th United States Congressional Districts, the 46th Pennsylvania Senate District and the 50th Pennsylvania House District.

*January 25, 2012 — Pennsylvania Supreme Court has remanded the General Assembly redistricting plan to the Legislative Reapportionment Commission ( order | dissent)

Pennsylvania is a U.S. state with two senators in the United States Senate and 18 representatives in the United States House of Representatives. The United States is divided into 435 congressional districts 18 in Pennsylvania each with a population of about 710,000 individuals. Each district elects a representative to the House for a two-year term. Representatives are also called congressmen/congresswomen. (Source:

Officials updated October 2016
  • Governor: Tom Wolf (D), Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. (46th Governor of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. (inaugurated January 20, 2015) || Governor's Executive Staff (10/12/2016)

  • Pennsylvania Lieutenant Governor: Mike Stack (D) — The 33rd and current lieutenant governor, a Democrat elected in 2014. Stack began his first term in office on January 20, 2015.

  • Auditor General: Eugene DePasquale (since 2015) — 717-787-2543

  • Attorney General: Bruce R. Beemer (8/18/2016) — Phone: 717-787-3391

  • U.S. Senators: Each state elects two senators for staggered 6-year teams. Senators represent the entire state:
    • Senior Senator: Robert P. Casey (D), Commonwealth of Pennsylvania (took office Jan. 4, 2007/next election: 2018). Pittsburgh Office (Regional Enterprize Tower, 425 Sixth Avenue, Suite 2490, Pittsburgh, PA 15319)
      Phone: 412-803-7370 / Fax: 412-803-7379 / Website:
    • Junior Senator: Pat Toomey (R), Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, (took office Jan. 5, 2011/next election 2016). Pittsburgh Office (Regional Enterprize Tower, 425 Sixth Avenue, Suite 1450, Pittsburgh, PA 15219)
      Phone: 412-644-3400 / Fax: 412-644-4871 / Website:

  • U.S. Representatives in Congress for 9th & 18th Districts:
    • Congressman Bill Shuster (R), (took office May 17, 2001) representing the 9th District of Pennsylvania, which includes Bedford County, Blair County, Fayette County, Franklin County, Fulton County, Indiana County, and parts of Greene County, Cambria County, Huntingdon County & Somerset County (click HERE to view the 9th district map). The main district office is located in Hollidaysburg (Phone 814-696-6318 or 1-800-854-3035 toll free)
    • Congressman Tim Murphy (R), (took office May 7, 2003) representing the 18th District of Pennsylvania, which includes the southwestern portion of the state of Pennsylvania. The main district office is located at 504 Washington Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15228 (Phone: 412-344-5583 / Fax: 412-429-5092).

  • State Senator: Camera C. Bartolotta (D), 46th District, which includes Beaver (part), Greene and Washington (part) Counties. Click HERE to view district map.

  • State Representative: Hon. Pam Snyder (D), 50th district, serving Fayette, Greene, and Washington counties. Click HERE district map.
Pennsylvania State Government Links: (updated 10/2013)

For general information, please contact the Information Services
at 724-852-5399 / Toll Free: 1-888-852-5399
Greene County Office Building, 93 E. High Street, Waynesburg, PA 15370

Today's date is: